Home, National Library of Ireland

Postcards from Heaney Country

Readings of Heaney poems

30 September 2022
Stephen Rea performing Seamus Heaney's 'The Rainstick' in the NLI's Reading Room

Stephen Rea performing Seamus Heaney's poem The Rainstick

The National Library of Ireland is delighted to partner with the Department of Foreign Affairs and the Estate of Seamus Heaney on Postcards from Heaney Country, a suite of short films featuring four Heaney poems.

The poems showcase the range and depth of Heaney’s work, aligning with the four elements of water, earth, fire, and air. The four poems are “The Rainstick”, “Glanmore Sonnet I”, “Tinder” and “Lightenings VIII”, performed by Stephen Rea, Jeanne Nicole Ní Áinle, Aislín McGuckin and Aaron Monaghan. Seán Mac Erlaine composed the evocative original score.