Chair of National Library of Ireland announced

The National Library of Ireland (NLI) has today (23.10.15) announced the appointment of Mr Paul Shovlin as Chair of its Board.

Mr Shovlin’s appointment by the Minister for Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, Heather Humphreys TD, took effect following his appearance before the Joint Oireachtas Committee on Environment, Culture and the Gaeltacht.  Mr Shovlin served on the outgoing board as an ordinary member.

Speaking on his appointment today, Mr Shovlin commented: “I am honoured to be appointed as the Chair of the National Library of Ireland, and to continue to serve one of the most recognised cultural institutions in the country.

“I look forward to working together with my fellow Board members, the Director, Dr Sandra Collins, and her staff to strengthen the Library’s capability to deliver services in Ireland, and across the world with online access.

“I would like to acknowledge that the Library’s budget has been maintained for 2016, to the same level as last year’s budget including the supplement granted by the Minister in 2015.  This is an indication of the Minister’s continued support and engagement with the Library, and we are grateful to her and the Department of Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht for their commitment in this regard. That said, the Library still faces a number of stiff challenges and we hope to work with the Minister and the Department to address these in the next years.

“2016 will be a significant year for the country and the Library is set to play our part in the 1916 commemorations in an engaging and meaningful way. I look forward to working with the Library to develop its place at the heart of Ireland’s culture, learning and society and to ensure that we can deliver an ambitious programme over the next five years.”

Last month, Minister for Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, Heather Humphreys TD, appointed the following ordinary members of the Board: Ciara Breathnach; Bob Collins; Maeve Conrick; James Dorgan; Jack Keyes; Conor Kostick; Susan Schreibman; and Jennifer Taaffe. The appointments were made under the National Cultural Institutions Act, 1997 and are for a term of five years. The remaining ordinary members will be appointed in due course.

Main Entrance, Kildare St.
Main Entrance, Kildare St.
Quick Links