Family History workshops at the National Library in August

Workshops will take place in our Seminar Room* at 1pm and will last approximately 20 minutes. No booking required. Seats are on a first come, first served basis.

*Please note change of venue

Wednesday 1 August
Getting started in Irish genealogy
Sean Murphy, UCD

Thursday 2 August
Irish church records
Mary Sullivan, Irish Family History Foundation

Friday 3 August
Irish genealogy online
Brian Donovan, Eneclann

Tuesday 7 August
Why are Irish surnames so weird?
John Grenham, author of "Tracing Your Irish Ancestors"

Wednesday 8 August
Connecting with the Diaspora
Anne Rodda, Genealogist

Thursday 9 August
Irish genes and ancestry
Gianpiero Cavallieri, Royal College of Surgeons

Friday 10 August
Sources for genealogy at the Military Archives
Capt. Stephen MacEoin, Military Archives

Monday 13 August
Records for genealogical research at the Representative Church Body Library
Susan Hood, RCBL

Tuesday 14 August
Genealogical resources of ‘Big House’ families
Turtle Bunbury, author of “Vanishing Ireland”

Wednesday 15 August
Using newspapers to trace your family history
Jennifer Doyle, Eneclann

Thursday 16 August
Irish placenames – tracing where your ancestors came from
Brian Mitchell, author of “A guide to Irish Parish Registers”

Friday 17 August
Irish births, marriages and deaths for beginners
Eileen O’Duill, Genealogist

Monday 20 August
Using Valuation Office records to trace your family
Carmel Gilbride, Eneclann

Tuesday 21 August
Records of the RIC and DMP
Jim Herlihy, author of “The Royal Irish Constabulary”

Wednesday 22 August
Using Findmypast to trace your family history
Cliona Weldon, Findmypast

Thursday 23 August
Scots-Irish emigration, 17th – 19th centuries
William Roulston, Ulster Historical Foundation

Friday 24 August
National Archives of Ireland, sources online
Catriona Crowe, National Archives

Monday 27 August
A thousand years of Irish genealogy: how to use Gaelic pedigrees and family trees in your research
Prof. Nollaig Ó Muraíle, NUIG

Tuesday 28 August
The Registry of Deeds – records to trace your family history
Mary Beglan, Genealogist

Wednesday 29 August
Records for children in Care (pre-1952 adoptions)
Fiona Fitzsimons, Eneclann

 
Drama at the NLI: 'At the Hawk's Well'
Drama at the NLI: 'At the Hawk's Well'
Quick Links