national library of ireland
national library of ireland

Flash Player 7
required and popups enabled.

site design by dara creative

All images & text copyright National Library of Ireland 2006

PDF Version of the Exhibition

This section contains Adobe PDF downloads of the entire contents of the exhibition. Users with accessability issues may find this a useful alternative to the main interactive exhibit which runs using Macromedia Flash technology.

A high quality Adobe PDF file is available for download to accompany each topic or person featured within this exhibition. Each PDF contains the complete text of each section and a full page version of each photograph or document with the explanatory caption.

You can download the PDF documents related to each section from the list below or from within the main exhibition itself.  A broadband internet connection is recommended as some files are up to 6.5mb in size.

Outline of Irish history
Those who set the stage
Those Concerned with Home Rule (for and against)
Prime Minister Asquith and the British government
Augustine Birrell, Chief Secretary for Ireland, 1907-16
John Redmond and the Irish Parliamentary Party
Carson and the Ulster Unionists
Eoin MacNeill and the Irish Volunteers
Republicans and those who would resort to physical force
Bulmer Hobson and Denis McCullough
John Devoy, Joseph McGarrity and Clan na Gael
Maud Gonne MacBride and Inghinidhe na hÉireann
Those with other agenda: Sinn Féin and the labour movement
Arthur Griffith and Sinn Fein
Jim Larkin and the Irish Citizen Army
Those primarily concerned with Irish culture
Michael Cusack, Maurice Davin and the Gaelic Athletic Association
Douglas Hyde, Eoin MacNeill, and the Gaelic League
WB Yeats and the Irish Literary Revival
The Seven Signatories of the Proclamation
Tom Clarke, member of the Provisional Government
Seán MacDiarmada, member of the Provisional Government
Thomas MacDonagh, member of the Provisional Government
Patrick Pearse, President of the Provisional Government
Éamonn Ceannt, member of the Provisional Government
James Connolly, Vice-President of the Provisional Government
Joseph Plunkett, member of the Provisional Government
Roger Casement
Roger Casement
The Rising
The preparations for the Rising
The Rising day by day
The main sites of activity during the Rising
The General Post Office
Dublin City Hall
The Four Courts area
The Mendicity Institution
The South Dublin Union
Jameson's Distillery, Marrowbone Lane
Jacob's Biscuit Factory
St Stephen's Green and the Royal College of Surgeons
Boland's Bakery
Clanwilliam House and Mount Street Bridge
Ashbourne, Co Meath
Enniscorthy, Co Wexford
The Surrender
The Executed
William Pearse
Michael O'Hanrahan
John MacBride
Michael Mallin
Seán Heuston
Insurgents, soldiers and police
Francis Sheehy-Skeffington
James Crawford Neil